let me start just by saying, that your game is awesome :). That said I am not sure how to handle the situation when my opponent is “roadblocked” and he/she has basically no chance to have 5 cities (city placement restrictions,….). If I am the only one who can build more roads, is it safe to assume that I win automatically? Because its only a matter of time until I upgrade my cities (assuming, that I have all the cards needed in my deck) and reach the final score of 20.
Hi and thanks for your kind words….! Sorry for the late reply, I was away for couple of days.
That’s being said, I’m not sure which situation do you exactly mean with “roadblocked”, since there is no such a situation in the game? Probably you misinterpret some rules…. My first guess would be:
1) Hero sheets “Blockade” ability of the bearfolk, but since this was a KS special item, I’m not sure that you have it in a first line ?!? If you have it the rule for it sounds like this :
“- Blockade – The player places an activation token, showing the red-X side on the road card, occupied by his male hero. Opponent’s figures may enter the square, containing the blocking token, but they cannot pass through it. To remove the blockade from a card players must have a hero there and play 2 friman cards or a tool. There cannot be more than 2 blockades on the board simultaneously.”
2) You should know that once opponents are connected even through a single road card, everybody involved can build cities everywhere on available “open” spots according to the rest of the building rules of course. So that’s another part of the strategy in this game, to know how and when to build roads, since in the middle or late game mostly no open spot is secured for you alone anymore…
3) Don’t forget the opportunity of conquering opponent’s cities to reach the game end condition of 5 level 4 cities (and pay attention, this is just a game END condition, not necessary the VICTORY condition. Victor is always the guy with the most points at the end) 🙂 🙂 🙂 !
I hope, this was enough to help you out, if not, please specify your question and I will try to give you better answer.
Hello, thanks for the answers, but that`s not exactly the thing I was looking for 🙂
I have created the image of the board (as precise as I can remember) of our 2 player game.
Yellow player cannot win. Because he can`t build any more roads because empty spaces are not connected to hist starting city, or any of his other cities. Only green player can end the game by:
- Filling the map, when he has more points (obviously)
- Upgrading 4 cities to level 5 (matter of time)
So, can we assume that yellow lost?
Yes, in this special case we can assume that the yellow player lost the game due to very bad planning of his road/city building strategy, but this is completely his fault, because there is still an “open” road end on the right side of the ruins. The yellow player cutted himself alone from all possibilities to expand or to conquer enemy cities. Normally this is a very rare case and it is just a beginner’s mistake, an advanced player would never build like this… In addition the smaller map in a 2 player game benefits this uncommon situation, in a 3 or 4 player game this is highly unlikely.
Sorry…. I see now after deeper look into your drawing, that the shown case is not allowed according to the building rules, you have in a first upper row 2 roads in the middle, a straight one and a turn, which are not possible to be built like this (one of them, I have no idea which one was first)… On this spot you need to build either a second turn towards the border of the map, or a T/X-junction, depending on what was build first. If the player would build a T/X-junction the yellow player will have the chance to conquer opponent’s cities and the game is not lost for him, but if a road turn is build, then we have the situation described above :).
I hope I could help this time 🙂 !
Thanks for the response, that is exactly what I was looking for. As a matter of fact I forgot about the building rule:
The road ends, depicted on the cards must be connected correctly with one another. This means that a card with a side depicting a road, must be lined-up with another card depicting a road, in a way that the roads fit to each other.
I thought that it is OK when the road is connected by this rule only with “previous” road tile and does not need to be connected with “next” road tile.
Thanks again, I am going to step up my game and start learning hero abilities.