i bought your game on the Spiel convention in Düsseldorf. Today we played the game the fist time. First i want to say, its such a great game and we liked to play it. But i have an open question. I only can find the costs for 4 cities, not for the one with the 3 streets. And is it correct that the city that looks like this -o- is the most expensive city? We discussed it in our group and in our oppinion, the costs of the city with one street should be the cheapest, the citys with 2 streets should cost the same and should be the second cheapest, the city with 3 streests should be after that and the most expensive one should be the city with four streets. Also on the reference sheets there are only the costs of 4 kinds of citys.
I hope i didnt miss something in the rules. Thanks in advance and greetings from germany, Markus
and thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so happy that you liked the game. To your question:
The costs for building a city is NOT connected with the road exits on the city cards at all, only with the type/rank of the units, which are building it. The main rule is always: 3 units of a specific rank are building a city of the same level, for example 3 lords /rank 4/ would directly build a high developed city of level 4. If you have only 2 units from the same rank, you can upgrade your city through flipping or exchanging the city token with one level higher number. For example 2 chiefs could be played in an action line for a city upgrade and could improve one simple 1st. level city to 2nd. level, because those units are higher ranked.
Opposed to the road cards building costs (which have 2 variations), the road EXITS ON CITY CARDS are in this case absolutely not connected to the city building “costs”, or like we are used to call them also “settlement costs”. You are allowed to take ANY of the top most cards from the 5 city decks, this is your decision and it is based on your personal building strategy for the roads. The costs are always the same for all 5 decks: 3 units from the same rank and the rank determines the city level through the token. You are free to decide which terrain & city exits type to take, so you have normally (until some of the decks gets exhausted) a choice between 5 options at the same cost and only one restriction – your are always allowed to take ONLY one of the top most cards of the 5 decks 🙂 !
I hope, I could help you with this answer. Have a lot of fun playing BATTALIA 🙂 !
Hi Alex, perfect answer! Now I got it… but I have another open question 😀 If the amulet is illuminated and I play another amulet on it and the dice shows a 3, does it mean I can use the second amulet twice also (because it is illuminated)? So all in all i could use it for 6 other cards? Or another example: the title is illuminated, i play an amulet, play a random card, dice shows a 6 and i chose the title… can I use it twice because of illumination? Best regards markus
yes and yes on both of your questions – those are the not so obvious options in Battalia and when a player is advanced enough could create really nice combos with them…. though some of them are really rare cases, or better to say… According to the definitions of the rules, you are allowed to play 6 cards on a illuminated tripled amulet, but on the other side another meaningful question would be – is it a good idea to risk 6 new cards, in case you have so many left, playing them on an amulet instead of using them in a sure combination, which should be possible (at least one) in the most cases…. I think you understand what I mean 🙂 !